Jamie Cullum Releases Festive Album 'The Pianoman At Christmas'

20th November 2020

Multi-platinum, Ivor Novello Award-winning musician Jamie Cullum has today released the holiday big band album The Pianoman At Christmas. Out on Island Records, it includes ten original songs featuring a total of no fewer than 57 musicians.

The festive set was recorded over five days at Abbey Road Studios with producer Greg Wells, engineered by our own Andrew Dudman, assisted by Christopher Parker. The ten-track set is a joyful celebration of the season, which is introduced by the first single Turn On The Lights that sets Cullum’s keyboard work against a symphony of strings, horns and expansive orchestral percussion.

Turn On The Lights - Jamie Cullum

On recording the album, Cullum explains: “It is a world of classic songwriting that I have been operating in since the beginning of my career. So I set myself the task to try and write ten, original Christmas songs that used these skills and obsessions to create something uncynical and adventurous, full of the joys and complexities of the season, that could be something you feel like reaching for every year.

I have been so lucky that every corner of this record has been touched by the world’s best – from the legendary Studio Two at Abbey Road, to the engineers, the arrangers, the producer and mixer. I hope the care, attention to detail and sheer joy that we put into this record will bring a little magic this Christmas.”

The festive release follows Cullum’s ninth studio album Taller, released in 2019. Lauded by the media, it became his latest Top 20 success and led to an Ivor Novello for its song Age of Anxiety.

The Pianoman At Christmas is out today and you can order it now on the Abbey Road Shop.