Sir Cliff Richard announces the launch of his brand new album Rise Up, 60 years since he released his debut single Move It

30th August 2018
It's been 60 years since Sir Cliff Richard released his debut single 'Move It', recorded here at Abbey Road Studios. And there isn't a more special way to celebrate than the announcement of his brand new album 'Rise Up' - Cliff's first new material in 14 years! Following a traumatic period in his life, Cliff Richard has returned with a powerful statement. Drawing on new songwriting talent as well as some of his biggest hit writers, Cliff not only chose songs with immediate impact, but also those that reflected his own personal sentiments. Cliff Richard explained: "I chose 'Rise Up' as the title track because after the bad period I went through in my life, I've managed to rise up out of what seemed like a quagmire. I love the lyric 'They're never gonna break me down, they're never gonna take me down, they know I'm gonna rise up feeling stronger'. It is always great to sing lyrics you can feel and I really felt those words! So, I believe that we have the right title for the album and I am so thrilled in the way that it has turned out. I loved singing every track. To have these great writers supplying me with their songs, is an honour! It has been put to me that a new audience might give me a listen to, and that is an exciting thought, and if they do and don't like it they can buy something else. Give me a chance, that is all we can ask close your eyes and tune in. My longevity should be considered a plus, not a drawback".
Cliff Richard recently came back to Abbey Road to talk to his good friend Paul Gambaccini about his brand new album. Watch the full interview here. The anniversary celebrations continue with Olivia Newton John and Cliff Richard reuniting for the first time in 23 years on 'Everybody's Someone' and the album also features four tracks using Sir Cliff Richard's original vocals and recordings with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra: 'Devil Woman', 'The Minute You're Gone', 'Miss You Nights' and 'Some People'. The first single from the album 'Rise Up' will be released on limited edition numbered 7 vinyl backed with Cliffs original 1958 b-side 'Schoolboy Crush'. 'Rise Up' will be available from 23 November 2018. Pre order here.