Stephen Fry Announces New Album ‘The Mythos Suite’ With Debbie Wiseman

3rd February 2020
Stephen Fry has announced his first album on Decca Records, The Mythos Suite, in collaboration with Audio Network, which will be released on 21 February. The upcoming recording fuses Fry’s inimitable storytelling, inspired by his Sunday Times bestseller, Mythos, with original music from award-winning composer Debbie Wiseman OBE.
Stephen Fry narrates each of the five musical vignettes on The Mythos Suite which were performed and recorded by 80 musicians from the National Symphony Orchestra in Studio One, engineered by Sam Okell and assisted by Stefano Civetta and Andy Maxwell. The release also includes five instrumental-only bonus tracks.

Stephen Fry explains how the collaboration came about naturally, “I have known and loved Debbie Wiseman’s music for most of my life – to collaborate with her again has been nothing short of rapture. Her music perfectly captures Greek mythology’s juicy and joyous mixture of the elemental and the specific, the noble and the wicked, the ethereal and the earthy.”

Debbie Wiseman added “Once I’d done some initial sketching, I invited Stephen to come over and listen to my first ideas. After that get-together around the piano at my house, infused with Stephen’s enthusiasm for – and enviable knowledge of – the subject, the music just flowed."

Tracklisting for The Mythos Suite:

The full tracklisting for The Mythos Suite is:

1. The Story Of Chaos
2. Tempest – The Music Of Chaos
3. The Story Of Rhea
4. Hidden Danger – The Music Of Rhea
5. The Story Of Persephone
6. Demeter – The Music Of Persephone
7. The Story Of Apollo & Marsyas
8. Aegeon Sea – The Music Of Apollo & Marsyas
9. The Story Of Sisyphus
10.Voyage Of Scyrus – The Music Of Sisyphus

*Instrumental track

The Mythos Suite will be released on 21 February - pre-order here.