Composer Daniel Pemberton on Scoring 'The Trial of The Chicago Seven'

Available to watch on Netflix from today, The Trial of The Chicago 7 recounts the story of what was intended to be a peaceful protest at the 1968 Democratic National Convention that turned into a violent clash with police and the National Guard. The organisers of the protest – including Abbie Hoffman (played by Sacha Baron Cohen), Jerry Rubin (Jeremy Strong), Tom Hayden (Eddie Redmayne) and Bobby Seale (Yahya Abdul-Mateen II) – were charged with conspiracy to incite a riot and the trial that followed was one of the most notorious in history.

The accompanying soundtrack has been composed by three-time Golden Globe-nominated composer Daniel Pemberton and recorded in Studio Two with Sam Okell, assisted by our own Christopher Parker and Jack Thomason.
Pemberton, who has scored such films as Molly’s Game, Steve Jobs, All the Money in the World, and Motherless Brooklyn, recalled that when first meeting the film's director, Aaron Sorkin, he had already plotted out how he wanted the score to fit with his film. Pemberton explained: “the first time I met Aaron Sorkin to talk through our ideas for the film, he’d already formulated the entire plan in his head. He knew the moments where the music should be strong and bold, and then also the ones where it should take more of a subtle and supporting role. I wanted there to be two worlds juxtaposing against each other—from the perceived restraint and control of the courtroom to chaos of the riots, which were some of my favourite moments to score.”

The recording of the score brought Daniel back to Abbey Road, where he has previously recorded the scores to Yesterday, Motherless Brooklyn, Enola Holmes, Birds of Prey, among many others. See below for pictures from the Studio Two session.
British rising talent Celeste also lent her soulful vocals to three of the songs from The Trial of the Chicago 7 soundtrack, including Hear My Voice, a powerful, uplifting ballad that encapsulates the mood of the film perfectly. Celeste spoke of her contribution to the original song, Hear My Voice, explaining, “I am so grateful to be part of such an important and timely film. Daniel Pemberton and I wanted to create a song that would be as meaningful, relevant and powerful as Aaron Sorkin’s film. He’s a true visionary and it really is an honor to contribute to this story.” 

Pemberton added: "One of the first things Aaron Sorkin talked to me about was his vision for a song that could end the film, that could leave us with a sense of hope and possibility, of light beyond the darkness. I wanted to write something that captured the ideals of protest, that every person has a voice and a dream for the world and that those voices deserve to be heard. Hear My Voice was that idea. I knew straight away I wanted to collaborate with Celeste, as her voice is one of the most magical things I have heard in recent times. Her voice soars on the track, and is an expression of freedom, defiance, and hope."

Hear My Voice, will also be submitted for Best Original Song at the 93rd Academy Awards next April.


The Trial of the Chicago 7 soundtrack is available now and can be purchased at the Abbey Road Shop. See the full tracklist below.

1 Hear My Dream Performed by Daniel Pemberton and Celeste (1:25)
2 We’re Going To Chicago (6:17)
3 The Trial (4:38)
4 Conspiracy Office (1:12)
5 My Life (1:33)
6 Sequestering The Jury (1:18)
7 Meet The Police (0:52)
8 Take The Hill (6:14)
9 Riot Aftermath 1:40
10 Don’t Stand (2:19)
11 Star Witness (2:31)
12 Motion Denied (3:30)
13 Blood On The Streets (7:01)
14 Trial Day 151 (3:11)
15 Stand Up (The Chicago 7) 3:41
16 Hear My Voice (credits) Performed by Celeste (3:05)
17 Take The Hill (Hear My Screams) Performed by Celeste (3:19)


Related News