Richard Ashcroft releases new album 'Acoustic Hymns Vol. 1', featuring new version of ‘Bittersweet Symphony'

28th October 2021

Richard Ashcroft, formerly of The Verve, has today released Acoustic Hymns Vol. 1, a new album featuring acoustic versions of some of his previous songs.

Ashcroft produced the album with regular collaborator Chris Potter, as well as with Wil Malone who provided the string arrangements which were recorded at Abbey Road.

The original version of Bittersweet Symphony sampled the iconic sweeping strings from the Andrew Oldham Orchestra reworking of The Rolling Stones’ 1965 song The Last Time, and in 2019 Mick Jagger and Keith Richards made the “magnanimous gesture” of relinquishing their writing credits to Richard Ashcroft.

Richard Ashcroft - Bittersweet Symphony

Other tracks on the album include The Drugs Don’t Work, Sonnet, One Day, Velvet Morning, Lucky Man and A Song for the Lovers. The album artwork features a photograph of Richard Ashcroft wearing a hoodie and sitting alongside his wife Kate Radley.



Bittersweet Symphony
A Song for the Lovers


C'mon People (We're Making It Now) – featuring Liam Gallagher
Weeping Willow
Lucky Man


This Thing Called Life
Space & Time
Velvet Morning


Break the Night with Colour
One Day
The Drugs Don't Work

Order on the Abbey Road Shop.

Related News