Royal Philharmonic Orchestra Reimagine Johnny Cash's Music For New Album Recorded in Studio Two

13th November 2020

Johnny Cash and The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Johnny Cash's archive vocal recordings have been set to the orchestral backing of the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra at Abbey Road for a special new 12-track album, out today via Columbia Records.

Producers Don Reedman and Nick Patrick consulted with John Carter Cash, who serves as Executive Producer on the record, which features a career-spanning selection of Johnny Cash's recordings. Tracks on the record include Cash classics such as Man In Black and Ring Of Fire as well as the stunning collaboration with Bob Dylan on the timeless Girl From The North Country.
“I believe we have captured the emotion, sensitivity and genuine honesty of Johnny Cash through his storytelling and his touching and captivating vocal performances,” says Don Reedman in his notes for Johnny Cash and The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. “Making this album with my co-producer Nick Patrick has been a true labour of love, and I believe we have captured the complete spirit and musical message that makes Johnny Cash such a heart-touching and loved artist, whom we are so honoured to serve in our way,” he added.

John Carter Cash also reminisced in the liner notes for the record about his father introducing him into the world of the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. “I was around ten years old and he and I went to see three films from the James Bond saga at a festival in New York,” Cash wrote. “When the theme for Goldfinger began, he leaned over to me. ‘That’s the finest orchestra in the world, son," he said. "That’s the Royal Philharmonic'”.

Take a listen to Ring Of Fire reimagined below.
Cash’s original vocals were complemented by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, who recorded their new efforts in Studio Two, engineered by Haydn Bendall, alongside former assistant engineer Stefano Civetta, Andy Maxwell and Neil Dawes. Take a look at the tracklist below and order here.


  1. Man In Black
    2. Galway Bay
    3. Girl From The North Country (Bob Dylan with Johnny Cash)
    4. I Came To Believe
    5. A Thing Called Love
    6. The Loving Gift (with June Carter Cash)
    7. I Walk The Line
    8. Farther Along (featuring Duane Eddy)
    9. Flesh and Blood
    10. The Gambler
    11. Ring Of Fire
    12. Highwayman (The Highwaymen: Willie Nelson, Waylon Jennings, Kris Kristofferson, Johnny Cash)