Creedence Clearwater Revival’s ‘Cosmo’s Factory’ Half-Speed Mastered by Miles Showell at Abbey Road

The 50th anniversary of Creedence Clearwater Revival’s landmark 1970 album Cosmo’s Factory will be marked with the release of a half-speed master, 180-gram vinyl edition, due for release on 14 August via Craft Recordings.
Half-speed mastered by Miles Showell at Abbey Road, Cosmo’s Factory, was originally released on 16 July 1970, and was Creedance Clearwater Revival's fifth full length album in the space of two years. The name of the album comes from the warehouse in Berkeley where the band rehearsed early in their career. It was dubbed The Factory by drummer Doug "Cosmo" Clifford, because bandleader John Fogerty made them practice there almost every day.

The LP maintained and amplified their place in American rock, giving them a second US No. 1 and repeated that feat in the UK, and in Canada and Australia. In their review of the album upon its release Rolling Stone said, “It should be obvious by now that Creedence Clearwater Revival is one great rock and roll band. Cosmo’s Factory, the group’s fifth album, is another good reason why.”

A melting pot of R&B, soul and Motown, country music, psychedelia, rockabilly and classic rock’n’roll that all comes together to create the soundtrack to swamp rock. Run Through The Jungle, one of the supreme examples of swamp rock and was rhythm guitarist's Tom Fogerty’s all time favourite Creedence Clearwater Revival recording, who explained “It’s like a little movie in itself with all the sound effects. It never changes key, but it holds your interest the whole time. It’s like a musician’s dream. It never changes key, yet you get the illusion it does.”

Creedence Clearwater Revival - Run Through The Jungle

The LP has been mastered at half speed by award-winning engineer Miles Showell at Abbey Road and is now available for pre-order on the Abbey Road Shop, housed in a tip-on jacket which replicates the album’s original packaging.

Cosmo’s Factory tracklist:

Side A:

1. Ramble Tamble
2. Before You Accuse Me
3. Travelin’ Band
4. Ooby Dooby
5. Lookin’ Out My Back Door
6. Run Through The Jungle

Side B:

1. Up Around The Bend
2. My Baby Left Me
3. Who’ll Stop The Rain
4. I Heard It Through The Grapevine
5. Long As I Can See The Light