ABBA 'Super Trouper' 40th Anniversary Releases - Half-Speed Remastered at Abbey Road

8th September 2020
To celebrate the forthcoming 40th anniversary of ABBA’s Super Trouper album, a suite of special releases, half-speed mastered at Abbey Road by Miles Showell, has been announced for release on 30 October. Super Trouper was the group’s penultimate studio LP release and one of only two that the Swedish superstars made in the 1980s. It topped charts around Europe and beyond during the holiday season of 1980 and has continued to be a much-loved part of their catalogue.

Released in November 1980, Super Trouper was ABBA's sixth straight No. 1 album in the band's native Sweden and also peaked at #17 on the Billboard 200. In the UK, it was the bestselling album of 1980, despite only entering the charts in November, and was supported by the huge single's success of the title track, The Winner Takes It All and Lay All Your Love On Me. The album also contained such celebrated ABBA staples as Happy New Year, Andante Andante and On and On and On.
The album will be presented in an expansive half-speed master, which was cut at Abbey Road by Miles Showell. In keeping with recent releases, a 7” collector’s box will be available as well as a strictly limited edition picture disc set. The 2LP half-speed master of the album is on 2 x 12” black 180 gram, 45rpm vinyl discs, in a gatefold sleeve with a certificate of authenticity and download card. The numbered box contains three coloured vinyl 7″ singles with download card and the picture disc 7” singles will be available to buy separately.

The 40th anniversary Super Trouper releases are out on 30 October. Pre-order them here.


A1. Super Trouper
A2. The Winner Takes It All
A3. On And On And On
B1. Andante, Andante
B2. Me And I
C1. Happy New Year
C2. Our Last Summer
D1. The Piper
D2. Lay All Your Love On Me
D3. The Way Old Friends Do