Joe Bonamassa Announces Studio Album 'Royal Tea' — Recorded At Abbey Road

One of the most iconic names in modern blues music, Joe Bonamassa has announced his highly anticipated new album Royal Tea from his sessions at Abbey Road, will be out 23 October. The guitarist and vocalist recorded the entire album at Abbey Road Studios, with Joe taking inspiration from the work of Jeff Beck, John Mayall & The Bluesbreakers, Eric Clapton and Cream.

Along with the announcement, Bonamassa launched a new single from the record, Why Does It Take So Long To Say Goodbye. Its music video was shot at the album’s sessions., which you can watch below.

Joe Bonamassa - Why Does It Take So Long To Say Goodbye

Longtime Bonamassa collaborator Kevin Shirley is once again on production duties, alongside engineering from Abbey Road's Christopher Parker, and assistance from Marta Di Nozzi. The record also features Bonamassa’s touring band - bassist Michael Rhodes, drummer Anton Fig and keyboardist Reese Wynans. The bluesman’s collaborators on Royal Tea were also of British rock royalty, with former Whitesnake guitarist Bernie Marsden, ex-Cream lyricist Pete Brown and celebrated pianist Jools Holland all lending a hand to the writing process.

Alongside the announcement of the album, Bonamassa revealed today that he will perform a special live-stream concert from the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, Tennessee on 20 September. This concert will feature the songs from his new album before the official release, along with other cuts from his back catalogue.

Royal Tea’s Tracklisting:

  1. When One Door Opens
    2. Royal Tea
    3. Why Does It Take So Long To Say Goodbye
    4. Lookout Man
    5. High Class Girl
    6. A Conversation With Alice
    7. I Didn’t Think She Would Do It
    8. Beyond The Silence
    9. Lonely Boy
    10. Savannah

    Pre-order the album on the Abbey Road Shop now.